Photo © Paul D Harrison. Please do not re-post without permission.
These two former ENOC coaches, RWC607 and RWC608 were both sold on into preservation. RWC607 started life in 1963 as coach 1640, and was renumbered 2604 in 1965. In 1973, it was downgraded to bus duties(as 2936), losing the coach seats and luggage racks, and serving in this guise until September 1980, when it was sold to Eastern National Preservation Group member Ted Miles.
Kept at Castle Point Transport Museum for many years, partially restored, it was finally restored to "as new" condition by now defunct Eastern National Engineering in New Writtle Street Chelmsford in 1990. Sadly, this rare and totally unique vehicle passed from preservation to dealer Carl Ireland in 1996, and then on to well known German dealer "Der Blickfang". It is believed to be still in Germany. RWC608 was also new in 1963 as 1641, then renumbered to 2605 and converted to bus specification in 1976 as 2937. Converted to Open Top in 1978, as 2300, it saw service in Southend, before passing to Eastern National Preservation Group member Peter Hughes, who still owns the bus today. This photo shows a unique occasion, when both vehicles came together again in Southchurch Park Southend, on the occasion of ENPG's "Topless" rally in 1995.
Photo taken by Paul Harrison, 1995, Southchurch Park, Southend
©1961-2017 Paul D Harrison All Rights Reserved.
You're welcome to print these pages for personal use only or to link to them as long as it's not for financial gain. Photos may not be re-posted anywhere (including facebook, flickr and fotopic sites) without permission. See the Site Map for further details.